Massive [Paleo] Banana Blueberry Muffins

by jc

My Granny was a truly wonderful lady.  Amongst her many lovely attributes was a skilled hand at baking.  While her baking was fairly simple compared to today’s diverse varieties of sugar-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan, etc., it was honest and delicious.  I will always remember her stressing the importance of using ripe bananas and sour-ing the milk with a bit of vinegar when making banana cake.  I would beg her to make it on every single visit but she absolutely wouldn’t unless she had sufficiently ripe bananas, singing “Yes I have no bananas, I have no bananas today!”.  Catchy tune eh?

The recipe below falls a bit short from my Granny’s dairy, gluten, and white sugar-containing banana cake.  This one is still very yummy but in a 2013-gluten-free-[hipster]-Paleo-[Crossfit] way.

Blueberries hidden within.

Blueberries hidden within.

I am by no stretch of the imagination a strict Paleo-eater but I enjoy trying my hand at baking Paleo goods. I figure I get my fill of gluten and dairy-full products when I eat out, so I may as well try to switch it up a bit at home.

Massive [Paleo] Banana Blueberry Muffins

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tbsp flax meal
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 very ripe medium-sized bananas, mashed
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup grapeseed oil (could replace with coconut oil – I just ran out!)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 + 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 container fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix flour, flax meal, soda, baking powder and salt together.

Dry ingredients.

Dry ingredients.

Mix eggs, oil, honey, almond milk, lemon juice and vanilla together in separate bowl.  Add mashed bananas and mix well.

Add half of dry mixture to wet ingredients.  Once fairly well mixed, add the rest of the dry ingredients, being careful not to over-mix.  Spoon batter into paper-lined muffin pan, filling about halfway full.  Add 5-6 blueberries to each muffin, pressing down slightly.  Spoon remaining mixture on top of blueberries, again pressing down slightly.

Granny would be satisfied with the ripeness.

Granny would be satisfied with the ripeness.

Fresh blueberries!

Fresh blueberries!

Batter ready.

Batter ready.

The process.

The process.

Oven ready.

Oven ready.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Big guys!

Big guys!

There you are blueberries.

There you are blueberries.

