Poached Eggs on Swiss Chard and Quinoa Pilaf

by jc

Since I arrived home from Whistler I’ve been rather lazy in the kitchen, pretty much avoiding anything requiring more prep time than my beloved stove-top oatmeal.  However today, with a fridge full of fresh veggies beckoning, I found the motivation to try something new: Swiss chard + quinoa pilaf on poached eggs.

photo (3)

Ever since I was little I’ve been a lover of poached eggs, especially the on-toast variety.  As of late I’ve been finding that I enjoy the gooey-goodness of a poached egg on healthier options (such as salad) as opposed to the margarine-topped, white Wonder Bread of my childhood.  With this in mind I set out to use the aforementioned fresh veggies in my fridge (thereby calming my paranoia of them expiring the minute I get them home) to create a suitable home for a perfectly poached egg.

Just what I'm imagining.

Just what I’m imagining.

Poached Eggs on Swiss chard and Quinoa Pilaf 

  • 1 cup quinoa, rinsed under cold water (this removes the bitter-tasting saponins from the outside of the seed)
  • 2 cups reduced-sodium vegetable broth (optional: sacrifice a bit of flavour and replace broth with water if you want to be ultra low-sodium)
  • 1 bunch Swiss chard, washed and halved lengthwise then sliced in about 1/2″ sections crosswise
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1 portobello mushroom, dark gills removed, halved then sliced in about 1/3″ sections
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 3 tbsp olive oil (approximate)
  • 2-3 eggs (or more, depending on how many people you’re serving)

For the pilaf:

Cook quinoa in vegetable broth (approximately 20 minutes or until all of liquid is absorbed).

Add 1 tbsp olive oil to a large skillet, add onion and cook on medium-high for a few minutes before adding carrots.  Once carrots and onion are softened, add mushrooms and garlic, again cooking until mushrooms have softened, adding more oil as required.  Reduce heat to medium and add Swiss chard on top.  Cover pan for a few minutes at a time, mixing chard with rest of ingredients, until chard is wilted.  Lastly, reduce heat to low and toss in cooked quinoa.

Beautiful Swiss chard.

Beautiful Swiss chard.

Chopping away.

Chopping away.

Onion.

Onion

Carrots + onion.

+ Carrots

Mushrooms + garlic + carrots + onion.

+ Mushrooms + garlic

+ Swiss chard (it will look like way too much, just add it all!)

+ Swiss chard (it will look like way too much, just add it all!)

Wilted.

Wilted.

+ Quinoa

+ Quinoa

To poach the eggs:

Fill a small saucepan about halfway with water, adding a bit of vinegar to help hold egg together.  Bring water to a rolling boiling.  Crack one egg into a small bowl and then carefully drop it into the boiling water.  Cook for about 2 minutes then remove with a slotted spoon and place on top of quinoa pilaf.

Poaching the egg.

Poaching the egg.

This gloriously healthy and protein packed dish will fill you up while leaving you with a very happy and calm belly.  I’m not going to lie, I had two servings myself but didn’t even feel a tiny bit guilty.  The pilaf keeps well in the fridge so if you’re eating solo just save the quinoa for later and poach a fresh egg whenever you crave it next.  Enjoy!

The epitope of "om nom nom" to me.

The epitope of “om nom nom” to me.

