Whistler Day 8 – The Mushroom House

by jc

We awoke on our final ski day in Whistler to yet another snow storm.  The white stuff began to fall mid-morning and continued all day and overnight.  We were admittedly quite tired from the five previous days of skiing heavy snow on skinny park skis so our plan was to have a very light final ski day and then head over to check out our friend from Manotick’s famous Whistler home, The Mushroom House.

photo (7)

We made breakfast in the condo and [may I say] expertly used up the remainder of our groceries in another massive 9-egg omelette.  I never eat this much but having the never-satiated Pete around has influenced my eating habits over the course of this trip.  It’s no problem when you’re throwing on ski gear everyday but I really hope my jeans fit when I get home!

Soon to be 9-egg omelette: bacon + peppers, maple-baked-beans on the side

Soon to be 9-egg omelette: bacon + broccoli + peppers, maple-baked-beans on the side.

It was snowing in the village and even more heavily up on the mountain which made for a somewhat humorous end to our April “spring” skiing trip.  The snow just started falling that morning and hadn’t yet really accumulated, so unfortunately we didn’t get to reap the benefits of the storm on our last day up.  Either way Pete and I had some fun park laps in the and made the best of the day.

Snowman.

Snowman.

We quit skiing early and headed down to have a late lunch at yet another one of my favourite Whistler eateries, Gone Bakery.  This place just simply rules.  It’s somewhat similar to the Wild Oat in Ottawa but is slightly less health-conscious (example: no spelt or kamut flour as a substitute for regular wheat flour) and quite a bit more Australian (but what isn’t in Whistler these days?).  I had a yummy sesame Thai chicken soup with jalapeno cheddar bread on the side.  The bread was quite weak and I regretted ordering it the minute I slipped my chip card in the reader to pay.  At that precise moment I had a flashback to how dry and mediocre the bread was on a past visit.  Not to worry though, the soup made up for the lacklustre bread and I left with a happy belly.

Sesame Thai chicken soup with what might as well be Wonderbread Texas Toast.

Sesame Thai chicken soup with what might as well be Wonderbread Texas Toast.

We next headed over to Emerald to visit some old friends from Manotick who now live in the aforementioned Mushroom House.  These newfound (well, 7 years now) west coasters were kind enough to show us around their unique home.  The house was built by an eclectic artist by the name of Zube Aylward over a period of 22 years.  The owner told us that Zube often collected pieces for the house from nearby forests, explaining that he always had a vision for where the piece would fit in the house.  The whole structure takes the form of a tree, with the upper level being the branches, the middle level being the ground (with visible “snow” in places) and the lower level being the roots.

There are so many details in this place, it’s hard to notice them all on just one visit.  It was Pete’s first time seeing the house but my second and I found myself noticing so many things that I hadn’t on my first time through.  I really don’t think there’s a single right angle in the whole place.  The main-level kitchen and the bottom-level grotto (picture a sauna with a hot tub in the middle) are by far my two favourite features of the house.

Art in the kitchen.

Art in the kitchen.

Art on the stairs.

Art on the stairs, snow above.

Snow on the stairs.

Snow on the stairs.

Just an okay place to hang out apres-ski.

Just an okay place to hang out apres-ski.

After our house tour we grabbed some takeout from Samurai Sushi because I insisted that I would regret leaving the west coast without having a least one more sushi indulgence.  We went to bed that night very sad that our time in this magical land of mountains and tall forests was quickly coming to an end…

Cali roll + edamame + gyoza + lemon chicken.

Cali roll + edamame + gyoza + lemon chicken.

