Whistler Day 5 – Rainy Rest

by jc

After three days of skiing in heavy snow we decided a rest day was in order.  The weather looked rather crappy so we didn’t feel too guilty about it, plus there were a few things we wanted to do in the village.

photo (14)

We started the day walking through the village stroll and checking out some of the shops.  We were flirting with the idea of renting some fatter powder skis for the next day of skiing as we were expecting 10+ cm of fresh snow, but we decided it was just a bit too pricey for us.  We stopped by Moguls Coffee for a mid-morning snack.  Pete and shared a blueberry muffin (that was still warm!) and a veggie samosa with mango chutney.  OOOHHHH how delicious it was – I love Moguls!

Moguls Coffee.

Moguls Coffee.

Heavenly blueberry muffin

Heavenly blueberry muffin

Veggie samosa + mango chutney

Veggie samosa + mango chutney

When we found out there was a Crossfit in Whistler we were both really excited to check it out.  We’ve been to two different boxes back home in Ottawa and while we really liked Crossfit Rideau, we were less than impressed with the other box.  Anyway, we took advantage of this day off and drove down the Sea to Sky highway to Function Junction where Crossfit Whistler recently relocated from Creekside.  The box was HUGE and awesome.  It’s run by the superfriendly Jordan Glasser with the help of his adorable dog Zeus.  Can I just say I LOVE the typical “Crossfit dog” that goes along with most boxes?

CFW.

CFW.

Pete hurt his shoulder a few days before we left Ottawa (showing a client what NOT to do on a deadlift – ugh!) so he did a modified version of the workout.  For me the workout was perfect as it hit my biggest weakness: upper body strength!  Jordan was pretty awesome and helpful throughout the whole hour-long class. He really helped me with my pushup and bench-press form.  It’s a bit silly but I actually felt like both improved in just that short class. I can’t imagine how quickly you could improve going there on a regular basis!

CFW WOD

Buy in (2 rounds of):

  • 10 pull-ups (band-assisted)
  • 10 box jumps (18″ box)
  • 10 pushups

Skill:

  • 3 x 5 reps of increasing bench-press weight
  • 2 x [slightly less than] 1 rep max of bench-press (don’t want to fail on an attempt)

Buy out (3 rounds of):

  • 10 ring dips (band-assisted)
  • 10 slow pushups
  • 10 ab wheel roll-outs
  • 10 push press (35# was now easy for me!  Wahoo!)

The WOD wasn’t too demanding cardio-wise but it was good for me to focus on strength for a change.

I really loved the CFW space.  It was so open and inviting.  No frills, but still much nicer than a lot of the other boxes that I’ve been to (i.e. I wasn’t afraid to use to washroom).  I really hope to get back there some day!

Pull-up bars... one day I will conquer you!

Pull-up bars… one day I will conquer you!

KB alley.

KB alley.

Boxes galore.

Boxes galore.

Back corner.

Back corner.

Another back corner.

Another back corner.

Zeus watching over everyone.

Zeus watching over everyone.

Goal board – I love this!

Goal board – I love this!

Changing area.

Changing area.

View from above.

View from above.

Pete loving it there.

Pete loving it there.

After CF we came back to our condo and made some lunch: turkey sausages and Caesar salad amped up with cucumber + red pepper + broccoli.  Later that afternoon we took another walk through Whistler Village, this time heading through the trails over to Lost Lake.  This park is usually packed in the summer with campers and staff flocking there after a day on the glacier, but it was a much different scene in the cold, rainy weather.  It was actually nice to be there when it was so calm and empty.

Simple + yummy lunch

Simple + yummy lunch

In the forest.

In the forest.

Lost Lake Park.

Lost Lake Park.

Blackcomb Creek.

Blackcomb Creek.

Lost Lake... a very different scene compared to the summertime madness.

Lost Lake… a very different scene compared to the summertime madness.

For dinner we finally hit up Sushi Village.  I was barely able to contain my excitement as we headed up those stairs.  It’s my favourite restaurant in Whistler and I have so many fond memories of parties there.  You can really taste the difference in the freshness of the ingredients at this place.  The fish is so good – it’s buttery and just melts in your mouth.  I think first-timer Petey thoroughly enjoyed his experience!  It was a perfect way to fuel up for a powder day on the horizon.

Edamame + Whistler brew

Edamame + Whistler brew

Tempura: shrimp + sweet potato + zucchini + potato

Tempura: shrimp + sweet potato + zucchini + potato

Cutie pie chefs

Cutie pie chefs

Spicy tofu... my favourite!

Spicy tofu… my favourite!

OHHH BABY!

OHHH BABY!

Super Hiro [spicy tuna] roll

Super Hiro [spicy tuna] roll

SASS [salmon + scallop] roll

SASS [salmon + scallop] roll

Sake margarita... it'd be rude not to!

Sake margarita… it’d be rude not to!

