Whistler Days 2 and 3 – Cloudy Fun

by jc

I’m going to give you a big double-header here to try and get you caught up with our trip.  Yes it’s my fault that I’m behind and yes I’ve been slacking on my blog as a whole lately… but I’m going to be much better soon!

Oh hey there!

Oh hey there!

Day 2 – Clouds on Blackcomb

Our second day in Whistler was [to our welcome surprise] a spring powder day.  We started off the morning by grabbing some coffees from Blenz, located right near our condo.  I wanted to give the local coffee shop a shot (no pun intended… he he) but honestly, it couldn’t compare to my now beloved quad-Americano that I’ve been [caving in to] getting everyday after the gym back home lately.  Luckily there’s a Starbucks literally right beside Blenz so I’ll be caffeinating myself there for the rest of the trip.  Oh I love vacation and not feeling guilty about buying your coffee everyday!

Our new hood for the week.

Our new hood for the week – Whistler Marketplace.

Mediocre Blenz Coffee.

Mediocre Blenz Coffee.

We headed up the Blackcomb gondola and then went straight over to the 7th Heaven area.  The glades just to skiers’ right of the chairlift were fresh and fluffy.  Unfortunately the wind and visibility were terrible at the top until about a third of the way down to the chairlift.  Nonetheless, we enjoyed five laps on 7th Heaven chair – sticking to the glades and one time heading over skiers’ left to Ziggy’s Meadow.  The sun tried to peak out for a few minutes when we were in the Meadow and we managed to snap a few pictures.  At least with this brief cloud-clearing Pete was able to get a bit of a feeling of the vastness of the mountain that he was skiing on.

Excited to be going up the Blackcomb gondola for the first time!

Excited to be going up the Blackcomb gondola for the first time!

7th Heaven.

7th Heaven.

Ziggy's Meadow.

Ziggy’s Meadow.

After 7th we explored the rest of Blackcomb a bit.  We checked out the Horstman Glacier but unfortunately couldn’t go up into Blackcomb Glacier because the Showcase T-bar wasn’t running.  Spanky’s Ladder was open though so we hiked up and went through what I believe to be Garnet Bowl but I don’t really know for sure because I find it confusing over there and the visibility was terrible.  The snow was pretty decent though so it was a very fun run!

We skied until about 3 pm and then headed back to the condo.  I went for my rehab run through the beautiful neighbourhood of White Gold. The sun was out a bit at this point and I made it through an extra repetition (I’m now up to 4 reps of 4 min run, 1 min walk) without pain so that really put a nice exclamation point on the first ski day here!  After that Pete and I did a quick body weight workout in the room (3 rounds of 1 minute: air squat, push up, sit up, supermans for upper back) before heading over to a friend of mine’s house in Brio for a great dinner.  We had orzo pasta with goat cheese + broccoli + sausage + sundried tomatoes + mushrooms with a side spinach salad –  a totally awesome dinner!

Once again we were lame (am I sensing a trend? WE’RE OLD!) and headed to bed early so that we could get up and make the First Tracks breakfast on Whistler mountain.

Day 3 – Clouds and Breakfast on Whistler

We woke up at the crack of dawn to get in line for First Tracks.  Unfortunately for us, we chose to do First Tracks the same day over 450 kids participating in the Whistler Cup were set to board and eat breakfast at the same time.  The mountain caters to 650 guests for First Tracks so they ensured us that if we were in line by 6 am we shouldn’t have any problem making it up for breakfast.  They were right and boy oh boy did we ever eat breakfast!

In line at 6 am for first tracks.

In line at 6 am for first tracks.

My breakfast.  Unfortunately I ate another whole plate that looked like this... vacation!

My breakfast. Unfortunately I ate another whole plate that looked like this… vacation!

Very happy about unlimited access to breakfast.

Very happy about unlimited access to breakfast.

We took our time eating and loading up on coffee because the visibility was even worse than the day before.  We knew most of the snow was likely skied up so we weren’t in any rush to get out there.  We spent most of the day on Whistler mountain but all of the alpine was very windy with terrible visibility.  I was hoping to take Pete over to Symphony Amphitheatre as it’s one of my favourite spots on the mountain, but the conditions were just brutal.  Instead we stuck to the mid-mountain area and lapped the Whistler park for a little while which was also very fun.

Just kidding Mom!

Just kidding Mom!

A wonderful feature of the Roundhouse Lodge bathrooms.

A wonderful feature of the Roundhouse Lodge bathrooms.

Later in the afternoon we took the [mountain moving machine] Peak 2 Peak gondola over to Blackcomb.  We explored Crystal Ridge a bit and found some fun glades.  Pete had heard about how amazing the nachos were at Merlin’s so we quit skiing around 3:00 pm and headed down to the Blackcomb base for apres-ski.  Normally a party of two would NOT order these nachos, but the big guy believes his appetite is rivalled by no one… needless to say we didn’t need any dinner!

Magical glades.

Magical glades.

In the Spirit Glades on Blackcomb.

In the Spirit Glades on Blackcomb.

Merlin's mountain of nachos.

Merlin’s mountain of nachos.

Visible frost line.

Visible frost line.

That’s it for days 2 and 3 but I have a sneaking suspicion that day 4 is going to be full of snow and sun!  I’ll leave you with this lovely collage of mine and Peter’s passes…

What a sexy couple...

What a sexy couple…

