Tunes 2013.03.21

by jc

I recently booked a trip to Whistler for some spring skiing and could not be more excited!  Because of this, I have eleven songs for you today because I’m just in that good of a mood.  ENJOI!

Coming for you! [photo cred: carmichaelphoto.com]

Coming for you! [photo cred: carmichaelphoto.com]

  1. Summer Heart – Hit Me Up Again
    It may still look like the dead of winter in Ottawa but the calendar tells me spring weather has to be on the horizon.  This is the perfect song to welcome in the warmer weather.
  2. Woodkid – I Love You
    Cool voice, cool black and white video (all his videos are bw!), cool song.
  3. Mikky Ekko – Pull Me Down
    This guy is so much more than Rihanna’s sidekick.  Love his voice, love the lyrics, and love the flow of the song… juuuust the right tempo.
  4. Sixto Rodriguez – Hate Street Dialogue (Round Table Knights Searching for Sugar Man Edit)
    This song is unreal.  I admittedly had no idea who Rodriguez was until I came across this remix.  Looking into his story a bit further I learned that, despite a lack of success in North America, he was HUGE in South Africa.  Oh man did they ever find Sugar Man.
  5. Dan Croll – Compliment Your Soul
    Another pretty song for spring.
  6. Nakamarra – Hiatus Kaiyote
    Mesmerizing.
  7. Wild Belle – It’s Too Late
    Can’t get enough of Wild Belle!
  8. Phoenix – Entertainment
    Okay I don’t love this song – yet.  It’s good but I have pretty high expectations for these guys since their last album.  That said, I’m still trying to get into this first single.
  9. Wild Belle – Love Like This
    Again, can’t get enough of Wild Belle!
  10. HAERTS – Wings
    I’m finding it really hard to believe that it’s not Gwen Stefani singing this song.
  11. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Sacrilege
    This song is the reason I had to do an 11th.  It starts out sounding like a bit of traditional YYY’s and then turns into a wicked gospel party.  Love!
