Swiss Chard Salad

by jc

I’m really feeling Swiss chard these days.  It’s like a three-way cross between kale, romaine, and spinach.  Given it’s also one of those highly-touted, healthy leafy greens, I’ve been trying to incorporate it into my diet in different ways.

Here I’ve substituted it in my version of a very popular kale salad from Epicurious.  In my opinion, the Swiss chard was an awesome alternative!

photo (2)

Swiss Chard Salad
Adapted from Epicurious’ Kale, Pine Nuts and Parmesan Salad

Soak 2 tbps currants in: 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar, 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Currants taking a dip

Currants taking a dip

  • 1 bunch Swiss chard (white variety)
  • 2/3 (approx.) pecans, chopped and toasted
  • 1 orange or yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 grated Parmesan

Dressing:

  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 scant tsp salt

Mix dressing well and toss chard leaves to coat, let sit 5-10 minutes.

Drain currants and add to chard.  Add remaining ingredients.

Salad topped with Parm

Salad topped with Parm

