Very Veggie Tuna Melt

by jc

My feelings on tuna have been navigating ups and downs throughout my life.  It’s been either love or hate the whole time.

To give you an idea of the timeline… as a pre-teen I obligingly ate the tuna and celery sandwiches my Mom would pack in my lunch.  But then a horrible, negative experience with a fishy taste – that I can’t exactly pinpoint – turned me completely off all fish until almost the end of high school.  But with maturity came a re-appreciation of these oily creatures.  Still, I can’t shake the sense of guilt I feel whenever I eat the mercury-laden organism.  I feel particularly guilty with tuna because of its larger size.

All that said, I still do love tuna and think it has many healthy offerings aside from the dose of mercury you get.  I try to limit myself to only eating it about once a month.

As a treat for lunch the other day I made a very healthy and very veggie version of a tuna melt!

photo (8)

I figured by adding tons of veggies into a single can of tuna, I was negating any mercury content in the fish – that’s how it works, right?  That’s definitely science.

Very Veggie Tuna Melt 

  • 1 can tuna, I like Skipjack because it’s supposed to be better in terms of the mercury issue
  • 1 avocado, chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 heaping tbsp mayo
  • 1 heaping tbsp grainy Dijon mustard
  • 3 pieces whole wheat bread, could substitute for GF here
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley (optional – for garnish)
  • Freshly ground pepper

Mix tuna with mayo and mustard in a medium bowl.  Mix in veggies.  Divide mix across three pieces of bread on baking sheet, top with freshly ground pepper then cheddar cheese.  I had some leftover parsley around so I added that on top of the cheese.

All chopped up

All chopped up

Tuna + mayo + mustard

Tuna + mayo + mustard

+ veggies

+ veggies

+ bread + pepper + cheese

+ bread + pepper + cheese

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

Bake at 400ºF for about 5-8 minutes and then broil for a few minutes if you like you cheese browned.

Ouh baby!

Ouh baby!

I served these open-faced sandwiches alongside a mixed greens salad, a dill pickle and an extreme bean.

Delicious lunch

Delicious lunch

 

