WOD #2: For a Slobby, Sicky Person

by jc

So as you might have guessed from my whining this week, I’ve been struggling with a sickness that has made me feel like a zombie since Tremblant.  I was finally beginning to feel better yesterday so I made myself a “return to exercise” workout of the day.

The focus of this WOD was to use easy weights and to go through the motions – nothing too strenuous – before going back to normal activity.  It’s nothing crazy but after almost five days of inactivity I was a bit [gasp] sore the next day.

How do I workout again?

How do I workout again?

This WOD fit well with the new “return to running” program that I’ve been given by a physiotherapist – more to come on the lovely running expert Francine in future posts.  Since experiencing IT band syndrome in early January my running has been fairly limited.  I was under the impression that rest was the only solution but Francine has informed me that I actually need to be running in order to get back to where I was pre-injury.  She has given me an 8-week program that involves gradually building up reps of alternating walking and running for different lengths of time.  It’s not going to be easy with the Ottawa Half Marathon looming at the end of May but I’m still hoping I can do it like I originally planned.

I must...

I must…

Disclaimer: To understand how depressing this wimpy treadmill workout was for someone who’s used to long [sometimes fast] runs outside, please note the terrible soundtrack I did it to.  Those of you in Ottawa will understand my pain.  Despite all this negativity, it is good to run again – no matter how slow.

Ugh... a lack of musical options

Ugh… a lack of musical options

 

WOD #2: For a Slobby, Sicky Person

On treadmill:

  • 5 min warm up
  • Repeat 10x 1 min run, 1 min walk
Counting down... painfully slow!

Counting down… painfully slow!

Brief stretch

  • Quads
  • Hamstrings
  • Calves

THEN…

3x [non-stop]:

  • Bench press, 10 x 25#
  • Walking lunges, 10/leg with 20# dumbbell in each hand

2 minute break

3x [non-stop]:

  • Pushups x 10
  • Single leg pulse ups (glutes/hamstrings), 15 x 25# dumbbell resting on stomach (with leg on medball, see photo below)

2 minute break

3x [non-stop]:

  • Bicep curl and overhead press, 10 x 15# dumbbells
  • Knee tuck ins with bosu ball (abs) x 10

2 minute break

3x [non-stop]:

  • Step downs (glutes), 10/leg
  • Bicycle ab crunches x 30
Set up for single-leg

Set up for single-leg pulse ups

