Banana Coconut Yogourt Breakfast Parfait

by jc

This morning for breakfast I was looking to switch things up a bit.  I’ll come right out and say it: I’m rather obsessed with fibre and regularity.  I really don’t think you could find anyone who’s happy when they’re constipated.  “Oh yeah, my insides feel all bound up and bloated.  I haven’t pooped in days, it’s fantastic!” – you just don’t hear that.

On the other hand, I do love bananas but am often weary of their constipating effects.  In come flax meal and psyllium seed husks to the rescue!  This healthy, protein packed parfait (that seems more like dessert than breakfast) is my new obsession that won’t leave you straining on the john.

photo (7)

For the uninitiated and for me who just discovered them [from the always-accurate Wikipedia]:

“Psyllium seed husks are portions of seeds of the plant Plantago ovata, a native of India.  Ayurveda (a system of traditional medicine native to the Indian subcontinent) recommends their use for colon cleansing and better blood circulation.  They are indigestible and a source of dietary fibre.   They are used to relieve constipation, irritable bowel syndrome, and diarrhea.  Some recent research also shows them to be promising in lowering cholesterol and controlling diabetes.  Other uses include gluten-free baking, where ground husks bind moisture and make breads less crumbly.”

Herro der friends

Herro der friends [photo cred: Wikipedia]

The claim that they can relieve both constipation and diarrhea seems a bit odd to me, but hey, who knows?  Perhaps they aid in the removal of the diarrhea-causing agent from the bowel (really scientific statement, I know).  Either way I’m a big fan of them for everyday [non-diarrhea-experiencing] life.

Banana Coconut Yogourt Breakfast Parfait

  • 1 cup fat-free, plain Greek yogourt
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1-2 tbsp large flake oats
  • 1-2 tsp flax meal
  • 1/2  tsp psyllium seed husks
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp honey (optional)

Blend ingredients with hand mixer and chow down.

Flax meal + psyllium

Flax meal + psyllium (I keep them refrigerated in these jars)

Pre-blend

Pre-blend

YUM!

YUM!

This recipe could easily be made gluten-free by either buying certified GF-oats or just eliminating them altogether.  However, I do really enjoy them after they get a bit ground up and I find they keep you full longer.

