Eat Out: Valentine’s Day at Giovanni’s

by jc

With yesterday being the all-important Valentine’s Day, Pete and I went out for a special feast at Giovanni’s on Preston.  It’s our first time (in three years!) being in the same city on this epic Hallmark occasion!

Giovanni's 1

Giovanni’s has been serving quality food in the heart of Little Italy for over 20 years.  Since it was V-Day we were limited to a fixed menu but there were ample delicious choices.

I’ve never been to a “classy” restaurant on V-Day and I found the atmosphere absolutely hilarious, especially in this Italian place.  They were a bit over the top in trying to keep our dining experience on schedule – they obviously had later reservations wanting our table.

We were laughing out loud at times because we’d have one guy top up our wine glasses and then, before we could even take a sip from them, a different guy came by and topped them up just an itsy bit more.  I shouldn’t critique attentive service, but this was a bit much!  At least it made for entertainment during the meal.

Like I said, we were given about half a dozen appetizers and main courses to choose from.  They all sounded delicious but in the end I decided to go for the full on Italian experience… when in Rome, right?

Red vino

Red vino

Salmon tartare on bed of avocado + arugula, topped with mascarpone and fresh dill

Salmon tartare on bed of avocado + arugula, topped with mascarpone and fresh dill

Home-made tortellini (veal + pork) in a rose + basil sauce, topped with parmesan crisp

Home-made tortellini (veal + pork) in a rose + basil sauce, topped with parmesan crisp

Tiramisu stacked in a glass... how could I say no?

Tiramisu stacked in a glass… how could I say no?

Pete was embarrassed by my picture taking in the restaurant on such a romantic night – HA!  I didn’t care, but unfortunately for this reason I don’t have any photos of his food.  His main course of grilled sea bass, which neither of us had ever tried, was basically like halibut but more oily and delicious.  We definitely want to try cooking it at home!

Overall I would give our experience at Giovanni’s an 8/10.  The service was a bit quirky but the food was awesome!  I would have probably rated it even higher had it not been Valentine’s Day.  Maybe I’ll have to go back and check this place out on a regular night!

