Juicing amateur

by jc

Juicing will save your life.  At least that’s what I’ve been told.

I’m a bit skeptical of all of the miracle talk about healing one’s body through juice consumption.  I mean, what about all of that healthy fibre that comes with intact produce?  Can’t I just eat these veggies that I so dearly love?

Whether my body needs alkalizing or my colon needs a treat, I was still willing to give it a try.  Well that, and my mom just happens to already have a juicer that sits idly in her cupboard.

photo (7)

Like many of my ventures in the kitchen, I didn’t follow a recipe.  I chose fruits and veggies that I usually enjoy eating and tossed them in this contraption.  Out came some [surprisingly] delicious juice.

I started with:

  • 1 apple
  • 2 kiwis
  • 3 carrots
  • 2-3 celery pieces of celery
  • 4 leafs of Swiss chard
  • 1 cup baby spinach

I washed all of the veggies but I didn’t bother peeling, etc.

I already feel better

I already feel better

Toss them in the juicer.  The Beville machine that I used has different speeds for different produce, so I adjusted this accordingly.

I wanna go FAST

I wanna go FAST

In you go

In you go

...and out you go

…and out you go

Hm...

Hm…

I didn’t think I had a satisfactory amount of juice after this first go round, so I decided to add in some more random ingredients.  I had to make it worth my while given the terrible clean up ahead that I hear go along with these things.

I added:

  • 1 apple
  • 2 carrots
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 2 leafs of Swiss chard
You too

You too

Juice again and mix the finished product a bit before enjoying!

It actually tasted great!

It actually tasted great!

And the thing I know you’re wondering about most, the clean up… errr… well it wasn’t terrible.  But it wasn’t awesome.  The whole juicing and clean up process (as an amateur) probably took an hour.

The Beville machine comes apart and most parts are easy to wash.  The one exception is a fine filter that readily becomes clogged if you allow debris to dry on it.  There’s a handy brush that comes with this unit that makes cleaning this filter surprisingly easy.

All the pieces post-clean

All the pieces post-clean

If you have any thoughts on juicing or great recipes, please share them in the comments below!

