Pulled pork on spaghetti squash

by jc

I really love pulled pork.  Its sauce-y goodness is so yummy to me but I’ve never been brave enough to try making it myself, mostly because I don’t have a slow cooker.  Since I had a tenderloin sitting in my freezer I decided to try making it in a regular saucepan.

Additionally, both Pete and I love spaghetti squash.  He had the wonderful idea of trying the combo of pulled pork with squash.  I immediately realized it was pure genius because, while I do like a regular tomato-y sauce on this kind of squash, I always feel that it doesn’t compliment it all that well.  Something sweeter is needed!

So here is my first go at pulled pork on spaghetti squash.  It was delightful if you ask me and purrrrrfect cozy meal for a cold Thursday like today!

Pulled pork on spaghetti 1

Adapted from Food.com’s recipe for pulled pork.

 

For the squash: 

First cut squash in half (used two whole squash for one tenderloin), scoop out seeds & crap with spoon, place in baking dish face down in about 1 inch of water.

Bake in oven at 375ºF while you make the pork.

Soon you will be spaghetti my friends

Soon you will be spaghetti my friends

For the pork:

  • 3 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 1/2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1/3 cup ketchup
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar 
  • 2 tablespoons molasses
  • 1 pork tenderloin, about 1 pound, cut into 4 pieces

In large sauce pan (Dutch oven would be better but I ain’t got one) heat oil over medium-high heat.  Add onion and cook for about 5 minutes.  Reduce heat to medium and cook garlic another few minutes (until fragrant).

Add spices (chili, cumin, cinnamon, red pepper flakes) and toast for another minute.

Cooking the onion, garilic, and spices

Cooking the onion, garilic, and spices

Add vegetable broth, ketchup, apple cider vinegar and molasses.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and add the four pieces of pork.

Simmer pork for about 20 minutes, then remove and place on a cutting board.  Let sit for 5 minutes then shred apart (I used two forks to do this).  The smaller pieces you shred it into, the better it will absorb the sauce.

Simmering the meat, s'cuse the steam.

Simmering the meat, s’cuse the steam.

Shredded

Shredded

Meanwhile, bring remaining liquid in pan to a boil.  Reduce for about 5-10 minutes.  I just did it for as long as it took me to shred all of the pork.

Remove liquid from heat, add all of the shredded pork and let it sit for 10 minutes covered, stirring occasionally to mix.

Shredded pork mingling with the delicious sauce.

Shredded pork mingling with the delicious sauce.

Take squash out of oven, use spoon to scrape out the “spaghetti”, top with pork/sauce mixture, devour joyously!

Meant to be together.

Meant to be together.

