Detox day happiness

by jc

After the severe overeating I engaged in during the Superbowl, I was really feeling like I needed to get back on track with my nutrition and fitness.

Normally I run several times a week but have recently fallen victim to what may [or may not] be a case of IT band syndrome.  I’ve been losing my mind a little bit and missing my long runs but I’m finding some satisfaction by upping my cross-training regimen while this leg issue *hopefully* settles down.

I didn’t want this blog to solely be a fitness/health diary like so many blogs out there (what I ate for breakfast + lunch + dinner, day in, day out).  However, I do find myself sometimes enjoying those types of posts on other people’s blogs so I thought why not do the occasional day-descriptor entry.  If nothing else it might give me some sort of feeling of self-importance… booyah!

Enjoy the [wild] ride while I take you through my get-back-on-track-post-Superbowl-Monday-detox.  Some new recipes are included as well!

Choco avo zucc muffins

Chocolate avocado zucchini muffins

Random quinoa salad

Big awesome random quinoa salad

Monday February 4, 2012

The day started out a bit slowly as I was still recovering from the food coma that I put myself into the night before.

Breakfast consisted of Bridgehead granola and plain, non-fat Greek yogourt.  Simple and delicious.

I made it to the lunch Lean & Fit class at Sparks Greco.  These classes are basically a circuit consisting of 8 stations for 45 seconds each, repeated 3 times, with “bonus rounds” of exercises added in between each round.  It was actually a great class today and I was dripping with sweat by the end.  Vaguely, the circuit included…

  1. Dumbbell chest press on ball
  2. Three variations of bicep curls
  3. Plank + opposite arm/leg raise
  4. Inchworm pushup – I did negatives to try to work on my [currently crappy] form
  5. Russian twist + overhead press with med ball
  6. Squats + lunges with kettlebell
  7. Pushups/knee tucks/box jumps
  8. Jumping/ski jacks – I substituted burpees here

One of these days I’ll get around to doing a feature on this great Greco location with their sweet (and cute) trainers.

Lunch was a natural chocolate (BioX – the best!) whey protein shake with a spinach (+ cucumber + golden beet) salad.

After the workout and lunch I remembered how I’ve been wanting to incorporate avocado into a muffin recipe for a while now.  Avocados are delicious and smooth like butter so I thought they’d add some moisture and buttery goodness to muffins!  I set out to adapt a random chocolate zucchini bread recipe into these…

Chocolate avocado zucchini muffins
(adapted from Cooking on the Weekends)

Sift together, then set aside:

  • 2 cups white flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 3 heaping tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

Puree together with hand mixer:

  • ¼ cup grapeseed oil
  • 1 scant tbsp vanilla
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup mashed avocado (I used about ¾ of one ripe, large one)

Then add in:

  • 2 eggs

Puree again then fold in with spoon:

  • 2 cups shredded zucchini

Add dry ingredients to wet, mix well and spoon into paper-lined muffin tin (makes 9-10 medium-large muffins).

Bake at 350ºC for about 24 minutes or until a toothpick poked in centre of muffin comes out clean.

OM NOM NOM!

Pre-oven

Pre-oven

Post-oven

Post-oven

Later during the day I convinced Pete to sign up for the 30-day unlimited hot yoga pass ($50 for first-timers only) at Moksha on Preston.  It’s such an unbelievable deal – you pay it off by going to only 3 classes!

Anyway, the only class that worked with Pumpkin Eater’s schedule was a Power Flow.  Eee… we knew it was going to be challenging for both of us non-yogis but Pete was confident we’d make it through.  I was doubtful.

It was an hour and fifteen minutes long but in the end we did survive and it wasn’t as bad as I imagined.  Sweating out all of the liquid in our bodies definitely helped to get over the binge-fest of the night before.

For dinner I wanted to try Carrots N’ Cake’s coconut ginger carrots and made a big, random quinoa salad as well.

Big random quinoa salad

Cook 1 cup rinsed quinoa in 2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth, set aside to cool.

Once cooled add olive oil, lemon juice (about half a lemon), and pepper to taste.  Mix well then add:

  • 1 can black beans (rinsed)
  • 1 cup cucumber (chopped)
  • 1 cup spinach (sliced)
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes (halved)
  • 1/3 cup red onion (chopped)
  • 1/2 cup corn niblets
  • 1/2 cup black olives (chopped)
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese (crumbled finely)
Coconut ginger carrots and big random quinoa salad

Coconut ginger carrots and big random quinoa salad

Dessert was camomile tea and a sesame snap… mmm-mmm-good!  Total recovery reached!

GO SENS GO!

GO SENS GO!

