Baked egg in a corn tortilla bowl

by jc

Et voila friends, a very random creation of mine.  I was feeling experimental at lunch the other day and had some left over corn tortilla shells that I was just dying to eat.

Since I had nothing else to really go with them, I decided to use one as a “bowl” to make some baked eggs in.  This is a super easy and quick recipe that I thoroughly enjoyed!

Ouuuh baby!

Ouuuh baby!

You need: 

Corn tortillas, cooking spray, eggs, toppings to go in the eggs, and that’s pretty much it!

To do:

Spray a small ramekin with cooking spray.

Fold/press in a corn tortilla, trying not to rip it too much.  It’s not the end of the world if it rips a bit, some of the egg might run through to the bottom though (which is okay – happened to me!).

Add desired goodies to tortilla.  I did cherry tomatoes (halved) and pickled jalapenos (sliced).

Put your toppings in the bottom, that way if there's any rips in the shell they'll block the egg from running through.

Put your toppings in the bottom, that way if there’s any rips in the shell they’ll block the egg from running through.

Crack in one or two eggs, top with pepper and taco sauce (optional).

Egg + tomatoes + jalapeno + taco sauce + pepper

Egg + tomatoes + jalapeno + taco sauce + pepper

Bake at 400ºC for approximately 15 minutes or until whites are no longer clear.

I added Frank’s Red Hot for some added zip after baking and it made it delicious!  The sides of the tortilla shell that stick out of the ramekin get nice and crispy and the taco sauce gives it a nice Mexican taste.

Eat me!

Eat me!

