Tunes pour vous: 2013.02.01

by jc

Music rules.  Whenever I’m feeling like I’m in a slump, discovering new music always helps me shake it out.  No good party goes down without a tres hip playlist.

Therefore another element of the “PARTY” portion of this blog will include the occasional playlist posting.  It’ll basically include new tunes that I can’t stop playing and any old songs that randomly pop into my head.

Dance party baby!

Dance party baby!

Here are some shweet tunes to brighten up the first Friday of February.  I can smell summer coming!

1. Alt J – Breezeblocks
I can’t stop playing this beauty.  Alt J has a very, very cool and fresh sound.  The vid for this particular song is a bit dark but you gotta admit it’s hard to turn away.  Something Good is another good song worth checking out by these Brits.

2. Solange – Losing You
What a cool beat!  It could be very easy to fall into the shadow being Beyonce’s sister and all.  I’d say this has definitely happened to Solange but this song makes me think she’s more than just Blue’s aunty.

3. Zola Jesus – I Can’t Stand
I first took note of this chick after she sang on the intro track to M83’s Hurry Up We’re Dreaming album.  The strength of her voice is undeniably awesome.

4. Derek and the Dominos – Layla
Ever since seeing the hip Ottawa band The Breaze play this song at the Rainbow a few weeks ago I find myself interested in all things Eric Clapton.

5. Disclosure – Latch
I’ve been pretty much playing this sexy dance track non-stop since the Christmas holidays.

6. Avicii feat. Nicky Romero – I Could be the One
Not only is this possibly the best music video ever made, it’s a really sweet song for working out or partying!

7. Disfunktion – Kamuwe
I. Can’t. Get. Enough. That’s it. That’s all.

8. Lion Babe – Treat Me Like Fire
Love her voice!  Love the vid!  Roar!

9. Haim – Forever (The Knocks remix)
I love the original version of these Cali girls’ song but this remix is a fun change with a sweet beat.

10. Ben Howard – The Fear (Moonlight Matters remix)
Okay, no really, I have been playing this song for about two months straight.  Everyday when I’m getting ready to go out.  At every party.  My friends could be getting sick of it (doubtful) but I just can’t get enough of it!  It made a fairly big splash on HypeM for a while so the awesomeness of this guy and this remix may not be news to you.

Happy listening!

